The process of obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Georgia typically involves several steps:
Pass a written test
You will need to pass a test on the state’s traffic laws and regulations, road signs, and safe driving practices. You can study for the test by using the Georgia Driver’s Manual and by taking practice tests online.
Pass a vision test
You will need to pass a vision test to make sure you can see well enough to drive safely.
Pass a road test
You will need to pass a road test in order to demonstrate that you can drive safely and follow traffic laws. You can take the road test either in a vehicle provided by the state or in your own vehicle.
Provide proof of identity and residence
You will need to provide documentation such as a birth certificate, passport, or other government-issued ID to prove your identity, as well as proof of residence such as a utility bill, lease agreement, etc.
Pay the fee
There will be a fee for the written test, road test, and driver’s license itself.
Get a Learner’s Permit
If you are under 18, you must have a Learner’s permit for at least one year and have completed a driver’s education course and at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including 6 hours at night before being eligible for a class D driver’s license.
Pass a knowledge test
You may be required to pass a knowledge test depending on your situation such as changing the license from another state, upgrading the license to a commercial one or renewing an expired license.
Attend a driver education course
If you are under 18, you may be required to complete a driver education course, which includes both classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel training.
Get an Ignition Interlock Device
In certain cases such as a DUI conviction, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle before being able to drive again.
Schedule an appointment
Many of the Department of Driver Services offices in Georgia are busy and you may need to schedule an appointment in order to take the written test, road test, or to have your driver’s license issued.
It’s important to check the Georgia Department of Driver Services for any updates on the process or requirements as it may change from time to time. You may also want to check the website or call the local Department of Driver Services office for more information on the specific requirements and any additional forms or documents that may be needed.